Conferences, Seminars and Bootcamps, OH MY!

Posted: March 27, 2011 in Daily Blog

Since joining AIGA Blueridge I am astonished at the many events for graphic design in the Baltimore/Washington D.C. area!

April 2 there is a Portfolio Bootcamp in Frederick, MD at the Cultural Arts Center. My professor is looking to see if we can come watch because most of us don’t have enough to even start a portfolio yet.

April 8 is a FREE Adobe CS5 seminar at Hagerstown Community College. I have already registered and cannot wait to learn new things!

April 9 is “A Day in the Life” Baltimore Design Conference at the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) Brown Center. The event runs from 9am – 6pm and includes breakfast and lunch. They even have graphic design student and early-bird student pricing.

Also April 9 is “Celebrate Earth Day” from 9am – 12pm at the Old National Pike Park in Mt. Airy. They are going to plant 5 acres of new trees!

I was also really encouraged to see 10 new job postings on the AIGA boards. 8 are in and around D.C. and two are in Pennsylvania. It seems the job market is heating up for us and I hope it continues. When I graduate in August I am sincerely hoping to have a nice graphic design job already lined up. And, honestly, I don’t care if it is entry level, as long as I am doing what I love!

Have a happy Sunday, faithful readers… C

Leave a Reply

