To buy or not to buy…

Posted: March 24, 2011 in Daily Blog

My second class this term for my Graphic Design AAS is Digital Photography. And, guess what? I want a new Digital SLR šŸ™‚

I remember when I was in High School and my choir teacher’s husband, Steve, was a professional photographer. I caught the bug then for cameras, but, they have always been so expensive.

I started looking at Nikon and WOW! The least expensive Digital SLR is over $500. The one I want is $649. Ouch.

I have a Kodak EasyShare Z something-or-other that looks like an SLR, but, you can’t change lenses and it has very few settings – most of them are automatic.

So, should I invest in a new camera or just deal with the one I have? This is the question…

The exciting news from class today is that we will be taking two field trips. One to Gettysburg and the other to Harper’s Ferry. I am sure I can get a lot of beautiful shots, no matter what camera I take šŸ™‚

Our first assignment is to take 10 pictures with our digital cameras and write down the conditions, camera settings, etc. in a camera log for each photograph. While I understand the logic in a log like this, I think it is ultimately a waste of paper. In our digital age, do we really need to document each photograph this way? What about a vlog or typing up the information in a smartphone, notebook or notepad computer?

In any event, I look forward to this portion of graphic design and learning how to take great photos!

Until next time, faithful reader…

C

 

Leave a Reply

